The Minister of Transport is responsible to Parliament for the following boards, commissions and Crown companies: Air Canada, the Canadian Transport Commission, the National Harbours Board, the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority, the Canadian Overseas Telecommunication Corporation, the Canadian National Railways and the Atlantic Development Board.

Treasury Board.—The Treasury Board was first established as a committee of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada by PC 3 of July 2, 1867; it was subsequently made statutory in 1869. With the Minister of Finance as Chairman, and the administrative staff (including the Secretary of the Board) provided by the Department of Finance, the Board has, from its inception, exercised surveillance, on behalf of the Governor in Council, over the financial affairs of the various departments and agencies of the Government.

By the Government Organization Act, 1966 (SC 1966, c. 25), these historic, organic links between the Minister and the Department of Finance and the Treasury Board were altered in a number of important respects. The Board was established as a separate department of government under its own Minister, the President of the Treasury Board. The membership of the Board was enlarged from six to seven, with the Minister of Finance serving ex officio as a member, together with five additional Privy Councillors designated by the Governor in Council. The President of the Board, in addition to assuming the duties formerly vested in the Minister of Finance as Chairman of the Board, became the Minister responsible for the new Department and, in this capacity, was given, for the first time, power to act on behalf of the Board in intervals between Board meetings. This marked an important step in the evolution of the Board from a committee of Ministers to a department of government, with certain managerial and administrative responsibilities in its own right.

The powers and duties of the Board continue to be governed by the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1952, c. 116) which was also amended in a number of important respects in 1966. The effect of these amendments was to establish the Treasury Board, even more clearly than before, as the agency of government chiefly responsible for formulating central management policy, issuing directives and guidelines, and monitoring departmental performance in a wide variety of fields. These include most financial management functions, e.g., short- and long-range expenditure forecasting, program analysis, estimates preparation, supervision and control of expenditures, leases, contracts, financial commitments, etc. Responsibility for providing leadership and stimulus to improved management performance and to the application of modern, efficient administrative methods within departments and agencies was also vested, for the first time, explicitly in the Board.

Possibly the most important change in the duties and responsibilities of the Board was in the field of personnel management. This resulted in part from the recommendations of the Royal Commission on Government Organization and in part from the designation of the Board as the principal agent of the employer in collective bargaining—a role assigned to it by the provisions of the Public Service Staff Relations Act of 1966. The Board had assigned to it, in addition to its previous duties relating to organization and establishment control, exclusive responsibility for classification, rates of pay and conditions of employment, a responsibility previously shared with the Public Service. The legislation assigning these new responsibilities to the Board contemplates and provides for extensive delegation of the Board's authority to the operating departments, under terms and conditions established by the Board.

Department of Veterans Affairs.—This Department, established in 1944 (RSC 1952, c. 80), is concerned exclusively with the welfare of veterans and with the dependants of veterans and of those who died on active service. The Department provides treatment services (hospital, medical, dental and prosthetic), welfare services, education assistance, life insurance, and land settlement and home construction assistance. The Veterans' Bureau assists veterans in the preparation and presentation of pension claims.

The Canadian Pension Commission established by the Pension Act (RSC 1952, c. 207), and the War Veterans Allowance Board established by the War Veterans Allowance Act (RSC 1952, c. 340) also report to Parliament through the Minister of Veterans Affairs.

The Department has treatment institutions and facilities in a number of urban centres. It also maintains, in large cities across Canada, administrative offices, which are shared with the Canadian Pension Commission and the War Veterans Allowance Board, and an office in London, England.

War Veterans Allowance Board.—This Board, established under the authority of the War Veterans Allowance Act, 1930 (RSC 1952, c. 340 as amended) is a quasi-judicial body consisting of eight members, including a Chairman and a Deputy-Chairman, appointed by the Governor in Council. The Board administers the War Veterans Allowance Act and Part XI of the Civilian War Pensions and Allowances Act. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Veterans Affairs. Its functions include the responsibility of ensuring that the 19 District Authorities, located in various regions throughout Canada, interpret the legislation in a fair, reasonable and equitable manner. It is also an appeal body which may consider the appeal of an appellant against the decision of a District Authority.